Event Reviews

Welcome to OK In Health's Event Review page. On this page will look at a range of events from specialty movies to concerts, workshops, to keynote speakers as per the view of our OK In Health members review panel.

 

Most of these events were posted on OK In Health or can be found on our event page. If you have an event you would like reviewed please use form below.

 

Ask a question or make a comment
Email Address: 
Question:  
  Please type the characters as you see in the image. (Case insensitive)*

Visual verification  Get New Image

line

EVENT SURVEY QUESTION:

Last June we hosted the 1st annual Okanagan Angels and Fairies Fair in Penticton. There were vendors and practitioners in from our three western provinces. The was a day full of Angel and Fairy talks, acquainting people with the possibilities of working with their Angelic Guides and Fairies Folk. It was a magical day, the energy was clear, playful, and Angelic. The public loved the talks, the vendors, and many took advantage of the Angel Card Readings, Fairy reading, Intuitive reading and many other readers, and practitioners that were present for the day. It is with great anticipation that we look forward to next year, as many people left the day asking when it was going to happen again!.

SO OUR QUESTIONS ARE:

Would you like to attend next June?

Would you be interested in a Saturday only?

or Saturday and Sunday?

Are you interested in a booth? one or two days?



We would love to hear back from you!

From the OK In Health Team

      October 7, 2014

line

OK In Health’s "Okanagan Angels and Fairies Fair"

Under the Umbrella of the OK In Health eMagazine and Angel Empowerment Practitioners™, the first annual OK In Health’s "Okanagan Angels and Fairies Day" had its debut on Saturday June 14, at the Shatford Center in Penticton. There were vendors and practitioners in from our three western provinces, and one in from South Africa. The was a day full of Angel and Fairy talks, acquainting people with the possibilities of working with their Angelic Guides and Fairies Folk. It was a magical day, the energy was clear, playful, and Angelic. The public loved the talks, the vendors, and many took advantage of the Angel Card Readings, Fairy reading, Intuitive reading and many other readers, and practitioners that were present for the day. It is with great anticipation that we look forward to next year, as many people left the day asking when it was going to happen again!
See you there next year!


OK In Health’s Summer Solstice – Okanagan Lake Vortex Gathering

On Saturday June 21st we had a wonderful 'Gathering' ceremony on the Okanagan Lake beach, close to the Marina in Penticton at 11:11am. We gathered to assist Archangels Michael and Metatron to do some sacred work with the new Trinity Era energy and clearing/re-activation of the earthstar energy wheel and to welcome in the Summer Solstice. The day was so beautiful with clear blue skies and surround by the clear blue lake. A duck came into our circle to join us again and a friend people who were at the beach came over to join us too. Thank you to everyone who came from along the valley to join us.


Angel Empowerment Practitioners Course (AEP)

Hosted by OK In Health eMagazine, international teacher, Cindy Smith came in from Calgary to teach her amazing 4 day, Angel Empowerment Practitioner™ course. In this class students learn how to connect with Angels. Empowerment is taught through learning to open to and trust your natural intuitive senses while working with the Archangels for messages and healing for self and others. Cindy teaches how to do professional angel card readings that include chakra clearing, aura work, energy cord cutting and much more. It is an awesome course for Self Empowerment, for the beginner or someone who has been on the spiritual path for many years, wether you do card readings for others or not.

Cindy was also one of our guest speakers at the Okanagan Angels & Fairies Day. Cindy will be back in The Okanagan to teach the AEP course. Please contact Maria Carr or OK In Health eMagazine for more details.



OK In Health’s - OK-anagan Gathering & Bean-A-Ti

The OK-anagan Gathering & Bean-A-Ti’s, were a huge success for celebrating OK In Health’s ten years of service. Our theme in June was Connecting to Y-OUR Sacred Angels. Our guest speaker, Cindy Smith AEP™, created an intimate and safe space where we could feel the presence of our Angels in the room. We ended the evening with Bean-A-Ti, that is a cup of tea and visiting. This was our last gathering for the year. We plan to be back in the New Year and we invite you to come out and celebrate with us and join us in Sacred Community to learn, live and laugh together!


Our next community event we are sponsoring is Gregg Braden visit to the Okanagan in September.


Please contact Maria Carr or OK In Health eMagazine for more details
      June 24, 2014

line

I Can Do It! Vancouver 2014 Review by Mel MacGregor

The Queen Elizabeth Theatre was the setting for I Can Do It! Vancouver 2014 which featured fourteen of Hay House’s favorite authors and speakers.

The two-day conference kicked off with a keynote address by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer. During his three hours on stage he spoke about his new book I Can See Clearly Now, praised the Wheat Belly book, ranted about Monsanto, quoted Moses and Rumi, brought his daughter on stage for a musical interlude, and delivered Dyer-isms such as “friends are God’s way of apologizing for your family.”

After lunch Caroline Myss took the stage for a feisty hour-long chat about transformation. The goal was to increase the audience’s awareness of our interconnected global community. More than once she threatened to stick our heads in a toilet for seven seconds. Then she reminded us to never underestimate the power of the Divine to come in and kick ass.
The energetic and charismatic Bruce Lipton wowed the crowd with his presentation entitled The Honeymoon Effect. Bruce’s love of chemistry, cell biology, atoms, and science was so passionate that it was hard to not get excited about charts, statistics, and being a skin-covered petri dish.

Calm and reverence infused the auditorium when Anita Moorjani shared her story of end-stage cancer, her experience in the other realm, and her return to this time and place. Her message was one of love and valuing yourself, and the audience responded in kind with a standing ovation.

Next, Nancy Levin shared her story of divorce and healing her pain through poetry. Then it was time to pull out the tissues as Alex Woodard revealed heartbreaking stories of loss through slideshows and songs.

The final keynote of the day took us from melancholy to magnificent as Robert Holden, Ph.D., danced on to the stage, chided Alex for making everyone cry, and told touching stories about love, his kids, being loved, his latest research, releasing fear and blocks to love, and his new book Loveability. His upbeat message was a great way to finish the day.

Sunday morning began with Doreen Virtue and her variety show featuring Doreen, Michael the music man, Precious the dog, Radleigh Valentine, Doreen’s dad, Doreen’s son Grant and daughter-in-law Melissa, James Van Praagh, a few readings and some giveaways. Phew! Doreen packed a lot into an hour and a half.

Appearing for the first time on the I Can Do It! stage was Jim Kwik, founder of Kwik Learning. Jim delighted the crowd with his stories and incredible memory demonstration. He shared a plethora of memory techniques that we could take home and immediately apply to our reading and learning.

After lunch John Pierre had twenty minutes to chat about his book The Pillars of Health before Sonia Choquette had us up and moving. Shifting and uplifting our energy vibrations through dance and lively music, Sonia dispensed great wisdom and handy hints to liberate us from negative frequencies and live a fuller, more joyful life.

Joe Dispenza, D.C., then inspired the crowd with his amazing story of recovery by using the epigenetic model of reality, choosing to heal himself rather than have Harrington rod surgery following a cycling accident. With the belief that the Power that made the body, heals the body, you too can plan your future and bring it to life in the present moment.
World-renowned healer and founder of The Reconnection, Dr. Eric Pearl, reminded us that the body doesn’t need any interference to heal. Pain is a message for us to pay attention to. He invited two ladies on stage, one to receive healing and the other to perform the healing with his assistance. Within a matter of minutes, we witnessed improvements in arm mobility that had been previously limited.

James Van Praagh closed the event with his spunky energy and touching messages from the spirit realm. He and the other speakers were also available throughout the event to meet fans, pose for photos and autograph books.

The I Can Do It! conferences are great places to meet the authors whose works you’ve been reading for years. You will be inspired and uplifted by their messages of love and light. You’ll also meet new friends and like-minded, consciousness thinkers. Check the Hay House website for details.

Submitted by Mel MacGregor, Edmonton
May 29, 2014
      May 29, 2014

line

The OK-anagan Gathering!

Sponsored by OK in Health eMagazine, celebrating 10 years of service.

Our fourth gathering of the The OK-anagan Gathering & Bean-A-Ti was held at the Shatford Center. April’s theme was Sharing Y-OUR Sacred Gifts. Volunteers created an atmosphere of comfort, Love and Light. Brenda White Dove, lead our opening meditation with drum and welcoming in our Ancestors, and closed Sacred Space before Bean-A-Ti.

Our speakers were talented woman from our community. Joan Moffat looked back on forty plus years of service as a Physiotherapist and Healer. Sharing that service flowed best for her when she followed her inner intuitive guidance. Wendy Binggelli shared how being a Law of Attraction and business coach was always a part of who she always was. Optimistic and open, looking to her inner guidance, ready for the Universe to fill in the steps. Raina Lutz was so beautiful, admitting that she had taken a huge leap through fear in the last year. Following her inner guidance and ending up with a busy life of teacher at college and taking deeper steps in her creation and personal thriving business as a Registered Holistic Nutritionist. Discussion followed opening the door to the concepts explored by our speakers and much more.

We ended the evening with Bean-A-Ti , that is a cup of tea and visiting. It was hard to leave as the community enjoyed the moment.

Our next gathering is Friday May 30th. Alison Scott is here from South Africa to speak on Connecting With Your Sacred Guides! Saturday and Sunday she will be teaching a course to connect you with your 12th Dimensional Self and your guides.

Join us next month, in Sacred Community to learn, live and laugh together!
      May 1, 2014

line

The OK-anagan Gathering!


For the third month in a row The OK-anagan Gathering was held at the Shatford Center celebrating OK In Health eMagazine’s 10th year in service. The turn out filled the room. This months theme was The Sacred You and Spring Equinox. Volunteers created an atmosphere of comfort, Love and Light. The center piece was dedicated to Divine Masculine, Divine Feminine and the Spring Equinox. Mahada Thomas set the tone for the evening with voice, guiding all to join in. The sounds were in pure harmony as the voices blended together as one.

Our speakers were respected practitioners from our community. Terisa Adam spoke on MIND, Dylan Smeaton on BODY and Denise Miller on SPIRIT. Discussion followed with insight and co-operation, people looking for language that brought concepts into a common understanding.

We ended the evening with Bean-A-Ti , that is a cup of tea and visiting. It was hard to leave as the community warmth was felt by all.


The topic for April 17th is Passing on Y-OUR Sacred Gift. Join us next month, in Sacred Community to learn, live and laugh together!
      April 1, 2014

line

The OK-anagan Gathering!

On February 19th, a large group turned up at the Shatford center to join us in the celebration of the OK In Health eMagazine year to celebrate. As part of our 10th year, we are gathering together to share ideas, stories and to connect with each other and or community. Last month’s theme was ‘Move Over Sedona! We connected with the idea how wonderful and sacred the Okanagan is. To give gratitude to this amazing place we live.
This month the topic is ‘The Ancient Sacred Okanagan’ where we look at the time before us.
Our Guest Speakers were Bob Etienne and Bernice Granger. Trish Zierler sang some Lemuria Tones during our meditation time. We ended the evening with Bean-A-Ti, Tea and a time to share and connect.

March topic will be 'The Sacred You! and how do you care for yourself?. We will have three great speakers and some spring celebrations.

Each month we will have new open discussions on many topics. This is the year to Gather!
Come Join us!







Are you planning on attending an event this month such as the Kyron event or a Reiki class?
Send us your event review to share with our members.


      February 22, 2014

line

Wheat Belly Live in the Okanagan!

I am glad I was able to attend the Wheat Belly event in Vernon. He also spoke in Penticton, Kamloops and about 600 turned up in Kelowna. The turnout in Vernon was great and I enjoyed being around like minded people who put health as a priority in their lives. I was able to chat with the lovely Anne from Autopoetic Ideas, as well as Julie Daniluk. Julie's talk reinforced what I have been living - we can resolve health issues and impact inflammation through our food choices. It was also interesting to learn about the history of wheat from Dr. Davis, and my knowledge and awareness have definitely improved. How lucky we are to have quality speakers come to Vernon!
Shelley




The OK-anagan Gathering!

On January 15th, a large group of about 35 turned up at the Shatford center to join us in the celebration of the OK In Health eMagazine year to celebrate. As part of our 10th year, we are gathering together to share ideas, stories and to connect with each other and or community. This month’s theme was ‘Move Over Sedona! We connected with the idea how wonderful and sacred the Okanagan is. To give gratitude to this amazing place we live.
In February the topic is ‘The Ancient Sacred Okanagan’ where we look at the time before us. March topic will be ‘how do you care for yourself’? Each month we will have new open discussions on many topics. This is the year to Gather!



Are you planning on attending an event this month such as the Kyron event or a Reiki class?
Send us your event review to share with our members.


      January 30, 2014

line

EARTHSTAR WHEEL SACRED VORTEX CEREMONY on Sunday 17th November, 2013

I have been working with Archangel Michael, Archangel Metatron and the Lemurians who guided me to gather a group to do some work on the Okanagan lake vortex energy point. In North America we have the ‘North American Earth Star wheel’. It is a circle of vortex energy points that are connected by a major Leyline. They also energize smaller Ley Lines that branch out from there. The ceremony was similar to the one AA Michael facilitated in Ireland but this time the energy moved very fast. As all the celestial beings arrived it was like a world conference or gathering on the shores of the lakes spreading out along the beach surrounding our circle, along the beach, on the lake and on the hills. I won’t go into all the details of the ceremony but just to say it was an amazing event for us all. We all felted blessed to have been apart of it. JOin us on January 15th if your owuld like to hear more.
I had such lovely feedback from the people who were distantly sitting with us. Even though we were later in starting the ceremony part they all said they felt it start around noon and was done by 12:30. One lady sent me a photo of a huge wave that came crashing over the rocks just after 12.30, were they were on the Queen Charlotte Island. It felt like the energy was arriving to them as a giant wave of energy.
My friend in Ireland said that she felt herself fly over us and saw us on the beach, again she said on the hour to the half hour. She asked did we start later :O)
There was a duck that was in the center of our wheel circle. After the event, as I left to head home the duck walked all the way up from the shore, and stood in front of me. I thanked him for joining in the ceremony too and then off he went.
Thanks to all 19 who were able to join us for this special day
Grá agus Solus,
from Maria Carr


"We began our morning with a blanket of white snow and sunshine. A quick reminder of the gathering of the people with the Angelic Realm at the Okanagan Lake for the activation of the beautiful Earth Star #18. The brightness of the full moon and her energy the night before made the ceremony absolutely magical. I was facing the North on point 19 during the ceremony as I felt the energy of White Buffalo and the Archangels coming through. The caption for the perfect moment was the Raven which flew overhead of us with a walnut in his mouth." Aho, Raven Soul Star!
RK Penticton



Thank you for inviting me to the ceremony, I enjoyed the learning experience very much and it was good to gather with so many like-minded souls. I felt the vortex in the middle of the circle quite strongly. I was feeling chilly from the weather but suddenly I became very pleasantly toasty all over. At the same time I saw with eyes closed a huge bright object, multi-faceted with large roundish facets, kind of like a giant celestial crystal, with chards of light firing off each facet in all directions, extremely bright and white, almost blinding, intensely beautiful. It seemed to be about a foot in front of me. Then it all faded very quickly and was gone. The whole thing felt like it took no more than three seconds. Anyway, that was my experience. Again, thank you for inviting me. With best wishes,
Deb

Wow, what a full day of ceremony and celebration of our divine alignment... a very auspicious day indeed .. made exceptionally auspicous by the Earth Star Wheel Ceremony ... thank you for the honour of participating in the grounding of these sacred energies. Life, love and light,
Ajeet ji

I am really glad to have been there and participate. i loved being out there doing that...Keep doing the work you do. I am really happy about any good that becomes of any of this we do and rejoice in our collective efforts regarding. Thank you for inviting me
Claudia

I was honoured to be on "The Wheel of Life" and to be in company of so many medicine people...all walking our own truths and sharing them with other's...just by the simple presence and being in like vibrations our Unity Consciousness affects the world and we connected on many levels! I reached a deep level of grounding...that which I have never experience...I like to fly with spirit and grounding is something I have to really concentrate on...I almost flew a couple of times but kept my eyes open so I could focus on the duck who seemed to like to come around my drum...I was a bit afraid of it lol...that is part of my "contrary" medicine...I fear animals but embrace the medicine and power of them! That duck was indeed VERY connected to the ceremony.
How very special was that gathering and the connection to the water!
I felt the energy of White Buffalo medicine and thought it was absolutely perfect that I was standing on point 5 which was the James River, North Dakota meridian. The White Buffalo teachings are from there and the Lakota/Dakota people...very close to where I was born and raised...Winnipeg, MB
Exactly where you need to be when you need to be there...that is being in the flow... AHO ALL MY RELATIONS ... RED WIND DANCING of Turtle Clan -
Brenda "White Dove" Hebert


We are soooooo lucky to be available to do this work and aware of the gifts we get as an individual and the collective. I feel so blessed to have a marvellous connection with the Shuswap and the Okanagan rivers of light...
Thanks so much for facilitating today and your willingness to step up to the "plate".
SP, Vernon


Maria, wow! Thanks so much for inviting me to help in the Earth Star Wheel Ceremony!
When you asked me to help, I knew almost instantly that my gift was to help ground the energies and that is exactly what I experienced. Helping you to ground, I could feel you way up there, doing the work. From the waist down I was solid and imbedded deeply into the Earth. I was in awe at what was being accomplished. The experience was exquisite! It was such a gift to be on the beach in the presence of such open hearted people feeling our Oneness and, being in the Divine Love of the Archangels and Heavenly Hosts.
With Gratitude, Love and Blessings
Bernice Granger


      November 30, 2013

line

Ancient Celtic Wheel Workshop & Samhain Ceremony with Amantha Murphy from Ireland - only $55 early-bird now on!

Learn about the Ancient Celtic Wheel, The Way of the Seabhean, Ancient Irish Shamanism, With Stories and Myths Of Eiru
and a new Moon Samhain Celtic Ceremony AT DUSK

wHAT IS: Ancient Celtic Wheel
Traditionally called the ‘Wheel of the Sun‘, the Celtic 8-fold Wheel takes us through the turning of the year on specific points that have been celebrated on the land of Ireland from time immemorial. The Wheel allows us to become aware and integrate with the subtle changes happening within the earth. Each point upon the Wheel has its own focus and expression and is celebrated with fire and festival.


The four main points upon the Wheel are:


SAMHAIN – 31st October to 1st November; Day of the ancestors, honouring the darkness and time of rest. Seeds lying dormant. 31st October belongs to the ancestors and traditionally the 30th October was the last day of the year with the 1st November being the first day of the new year.

Imbolc – 31st Jan to 1st February; A time of beginning, preparation for the seeds, the earth awakening.

Bealtaine – 30th April to 1st May; A time of seeding, fertility and celebration of life.

Lugnnasa/Lammas – 31st July to 1st August; A time of Harvest and gathering both grains and clans. Originally Tealta’s Day.

The lesser points are the Solstices, 21st June & 21st December and the Equinoxes – 21st March & 21st September.

In this one-day workshop we will follow the path of the wheel and the celebrations for each of the main points. We will also seek to understand how we can use this wheel to follow the path of our own growth and expression. Following the path of the Celtic Pilgrim.

What is Samhain?

Date: Nov 2, 2013
Saturday 1pm (One day only in BC)
Price: $55 Early bird or $60 at the door
Phone: 250 493 0106 celtic-healing@shaw.ca
Location: Penticton, BC Canada

JOIN US TO CELEBRATH AND WELCOME IN THE IRISH'S NEW YEAR

EVERYONE WELCOME - BOOK YOUR TICKET TO-DAY!




      October 29, 2013

line



SPIRITUAL & FINANCIAL FREEDOM Workshop,
Oct 19 & 20, 2013
Penticton Bc - 1st time in the Okanagan
Hosted with Cindy Smith (Calgary) and Jaden Sterling (Florida)
OK In Health Presents: This course is perfect for you if you are really ready to make changes to how you believe and think about money and spirituality.



EVENT REVIEWS:

"I was in awe and gratitude after Jaden and I taught this workshop. This was a true example of moving from "I can't to I can." I send gratitude to all the students who trusted in themselves to change old belief patterns that no longer serve them and created new patterns that work and benefit them now. Amazing change Jaden and I witnessed and the feedback from students about the positive experiences since course have been incredible. So please take the leap of change and join us in our next class to increase your Spiritual and Financial Freedom!" Cindy Smith

"Course has allowed me to become aware of my unconscious blocks I had with finances and spirituality-- mainly finances which in turn has raised my self-esteem. I now have tools to reinforce the huge shift I experienced." Lee

"Amazing course! Gets down to the core and heals completely. I loved and enjoyed every minute. I look forward to what can be created." Diane M.

"You connect everyone to their soul's purpose and it makes everyone's life a better path. Your love gives everyone joy and we all love you back with gratitude." Louise


To Register:
http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/event?oeidk=a07e7e12tfscb8ca1de&llr=9y5muldab

More Details:
http://www.okinhealth.com/events/details.aspx?EventID=1241
      August 27, 2013
1234
Connect with Us
facebook    twitter

Celebration Centre and Metaphysical Society – Penticton, BC


Wellness Tip
Stress Management
A lecturer, when explaining stress management to an audience, raised a glass of water and asked, how heavy is this glass of water? The lecturer replied, The absolute weight doesn't matter. It depends on how long you try to hold it. If I hold it for a minute, that's not a problem. If I hold it for an hour, I'll have an ache in my right arm. If I hold it for a day, you'll have to call an ambulance. In each case, it's the same weight, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it becomes. If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, as the burden becomes increasingly heavy. As with the glass of water, you have to put it down for a while and rest before holding it again. When we're refreshed, we can carry on with the burden. So, before you return home tonight, put the burden of work down. Don't carry it home. You can pick it up tomorrow. Whatever burdens you're carrying now, let them down for a moment if you can. Relax; pick them up later after you've rested. Life is short. Enjoy it!


Celebration Centre and Metaphysical Society – Penticton, BC


Wellness Directory
Health is Bliss
Specialty: Health Clinics & Wellness Centers
Shannon Bliss is a Holistic Nutritionist who specializes in Live Blood Analysis and is committed to helping people take control of their health.
View Details


14 Day Celtic Angel Tour to Ireland with Maria Carr & Cindy Smith


Event
Healthy Solutions To Feel Better Living with Chronic Pain
Date: Dec 7, 2014
Location: Kelowna & Central Okanagan
Transformational workshop for people living with chronic pain to be able to integrate effective, healthy solutions to improve health, decrease pain and allow greater function, quality of life and joy.
View Details


Celtic Healings Intuitive Readings with Maria O'Farrell Carr


Article
FreeStyle Meditation
A different approach to creating a meditation practice that works for you and your unique life style.
Full Article


Celebration Centre and Metaphysical Society – Penticton, BC


Recipe
Tuscan Leek, Potatoe & Bean Soup
Category: Soup
Description: Welcome those crisp winter days with a pot of hearty Tuscan bean soup. Leeks are a unique combination of flavonoids and sulfur-containing nutrients, the allium vegetables belong in your diet on a regular basis. Like their allium cousins, onions and garlic, let leeks sit for at least 5 minutes after cutting and before cooking to enhance their health-promoting qualities.
A good source of dietary fiber, leeks also contain goodly amounts of folic acid, calcium, potassium, and vitamin C. Easier to digest than standard onions, leeks have laxative, antiseptic, diuretic, and anti-arthritic properties.
Leeks contain many noteworthy flavonoid anti-oxidants, minerals, and vitamins that have proven health benefits.
Leeks are low in calories. 100 g fresh stalks contain 61 calories. Further, their elongated stalks provide good amounts of soluble and insoluble fiber.
Laboratory studies show that allicin reduces cholesterol production by inhibiting HMG-CoA reductase enzyme in the liver cells. Further, it also found to have anti-bacterial, anti-viral and anti-fungal activities.
Allicin also decreases blood vessel stiffness by release of nitric oxide (NO); thereby bring reduction in the total blood pressure. It also blocks platelet clot formation and has fibrinolytic action in the blood vessels, which helps decrease overall risk of coronary artery disease (CAD), peripheral vascular diseases (PVD), and stroke.
Leeks are great source of minerals and vitamins that are essential for optimum health. Their leafy stems indeed contain several vital vitamins such as pyridoxine, folic acid, niacin, riboflavin, and thiamin in healthy proportions. 100 g fresh stalks provide 64 µg of folates. Folic acid is essential for DNA synthesis and cell division. Their adequate levels in the diet during pregnancy can help prevent neural tube defects in the newborn babies.
In addition, leeks are one of the good source of vitamin A (1667 IU or 55% of RDA per 100 g) and other flavonoid phenolic anti-oxidants such as carotenes, xanthin, and lutein. They also have some other essential vitamins such as vitamin C, K, and vitamin E. Vitamin C helps body develop resistance against infectious agents and scavenge harmful, pro-inflammatory free radicals. Further, its stalks have small amounts of minerals such as potassium, iron, calcium, magnesium, manganese, zinc, and selenium.
Often overlooked in leeks is their important concentration of the B vitamin folate. Folate is present in leeks in one of its bioactive forms (5-methyltetrahydrofolate, or 5MTHF) and it is present throughout the plant (including the full leaf portion, not only the lower leaf and bulb).
Fresh leeks should be stored unwashed and untrimmed in the refrigerator, where they will keep fresh for between one and two weeks. Wrapping them loosely in a plastic bag will help them to retain moisture.
Tips for Preparing Leeks - Cut off green tops of leeks and remove outer tough leaves. Cut off root and cut leeks in half lengthwise. Fan out the leeks and rinse well under running water, leaving them intact. Cut leeks into 2-inch lengths. Holding the leek sections cut side up, cut lengthwise so that you end up with thin strips, known as the chiffonade cut, slicing until you reach the green portion. Make sure slices are cut very thin to shorten cooking time. Let leeks sit for at least 5 minutes before cooking.
With a more delicate and sweeter flavor than onions, leeks add a subtle touch to recipes without overpowering the other flavors that are present. Although leeks are available throughout the year they are in season from the fall through the early part of spring when they are at their best.
Full Recipe


Celebration Centre and Metaphysical Society – Penticton, BC